So I came across this blog post about writing several books before one book is published.  Honestly, this is something that I never even considered before, but I guess it makes sense.  I mean, if I sat around and waited for my first book to be published, it would take years and years before I ever published another.  I have to have something to do while I’m waiting, right?

There is a cliché in publishing that by the time a writer finally gets published, she already has a whole stack of novels completed and hidden in a drawer, never to see the light of day. No writer gets their first book published, right?

But it’s more than that, writing another book while I’m sending out the first, I mean.  I think she missed #5, which is, Editing.

I’ve been breaking all the conventional advice and I continually edit my book while I am writing.  Not the “big edit” that I will do once I am completed with the entire novel, but minor edits.  I also have several notes that I’ve made to “go back and fix this part,” because at the time of writing, I knew it wasn’t going to pass muster.

However, once I’m finished with the “big edit,” I will move onto the next book.  Maybe I’ll do another book in the series, although I think I’m going to let the idea stew for a while.  I’ll probably end up writing a completely different novel.

And then when I’m done with that novel, I plan on revisiting my first novel and edit it again.  I’ve become (hopefully) a better writer.  I’ve entered (hopefully) dozens of short story contests, gotten feedback from those contests, went through several college classes, joined a peer editing critique group, had the book read and edited by my best friend, and so on and so forth.

And this growth is what she means about the several books before publishing cliché.

