So I am writing a report on how to drive traffic to your blog, which I will offer free to my readers if they sign up to my newsletter.  (I haven’t written it yet, but it will be available in about a month.)  I’ve hit the point in my eBook where I talk about using Feedburner as an RSS service.

There are three different things here that I would like to mention.

First, I decided that I was posting too frequently for my own good, with several people signing up to my RSS feed but then dropping off of it.  In my gung-ho-ness to get my word out there, I decided that I was just being annoying rather than helpful, so I’ve decided to scale back on my posts to three times per week.  With this, I also decided that my posts were not long enough, and that I should write more, but less frequently.

Second, my most popular posts are by far the updates to my novel writing.  I have no idea why, but perhaps people like to see the progress that I’m making, or perhaps these are the most personal about myself, so I decided that I was going to keep those posts but make them on Saturday, to hit what should be the best traffic.

And I discovered that I didn’t pay attention to my RSS feed link on my web page.  As it turns out, it is built into my blog theme, but now I have the problem that I might confuse everyone.  Do they click on the RSS feed at the top, next to the icon, or do they click on the link that says “RSS feed”?  Unfortunately, this means that I might have to change my theme around, but I can’t decide on one that I like too much.

Anyway, the reason I like Feedburner is because you can do a bunch of stuff with your feed, such as put Twitter links and such and such in the feed, something that you definitely can’t do with a plain ol’ WordPress one.  Alas, I don’t want to confuse everyone so I opted to keep the plain one, and bag Feedburner, until such a time when I can change up my site a bit.

But why even have an RSS feed to begin with?  How does this drive traffic to your site?

The answer, simply, is because readers and visitors are going to come to your site in many different ways, and you need to provide all the different ways they will come to it.  I know that I do not go to every blog that I like everyday.  I catch them all in my RSS feed reader and then I peruse them at my leisure.  Then, if I like a blog post enough to comment on it, I click the link and I comment.  If I want to read the entire article (as some articles in a feed only show the first few paragraphs), then I will.

This is the basics of journalism, and I guess blogging is a type of journalism.  People only read the first paragraph or two before they move onto something else.  An RSS feed is something like a newspaper, a collection of news articles all in one place.  Like a newspaper, people are going to pick and choose what to read.  For you, as the blogger, that means that you are going to have to write for those of us who like to use a RSS feed reader.  It that means that you have to “capture” them in the first couple of sentences.

I love this concept.  As a wanna-be writer, this helps me define my writing even better for my audience.  Call it “practice” or call it “business savvy” or call it “journalism,” but whatever the designation, it is makes me a better author.

So, tell me, do you use Feedburner?  Why or why not?


If you liked my post, maybe you’d like to subscribe to my newsletter or subscribe to my RSS Feed.

