One of my children has a tough time eating her vegetables.  She tells me that she can’t stand the texture in her mouth – my research on the subject would tell me that she is tactile sensitive.  (The jury on this, however, is still out.  I think she is just stubborn because she will eat some vegetables – the ones that I’ve continually exposed her to.)

The method that I use quite frequently to encourage her to eat her veggies is this: a timer.  I give her a time limitation, where if she doesn’t finish them, she gets another full serving.

Yesterday, my feet were dragging, and that’s bad.  It’s bad but not because I won’t get anything done; not getting anything done has its own merits and consequences.  It’s bad because then I always get a build up of the things that I couldn’t finish the day before, and then all my to-dos get haywire.  (Think, laundry piles.)

So I decided to implement the timer for myself.

And you know what? It worked!  I was so surprised.

I had to make the consequences something that I would enjoy if I accomplished my work, and something I would not enjoy if I didn’t meet my work.  My “treat” was to take a 30 minute break if I worked for an hour, where I could make myself a cup of coffee (I’m addicted so this is real motivation for me), play a little bit of FaceBook gaming, and make myself a sandwich.

After my allotted time of working, I set the timer again for 30 minutes.  I only promised myself 30 minutes, no more.  And then I did the entire process all over again, until I got everything done that I wanted to get done.

That’s the problem with working from home, and why most employers don’t want to employ people who work from home.  Unless you are disciplined, you tend to procrastinate and slack off a lot.  On the flip side, one full concentrated hour of working at home equates approximately three hours at the office.  Yes, that means that I can work 1/3 of the amount that I do, if I work from home, than any office employee.

Does anyone else have any time management tips to share to get their work done?

