Here’s a problem that every new blogger faces: getting web site traffic.

I’m a strong believer in the internet footprint.  This is where you create bits and pieces of traffic to your site, gradually.  The more footprints you have in the sand, the more others are going to find you.  How do you do it, if you are an author or wanna-be author (such as myself)?

Make your pen name into a real person.

Have you ever done a web search for your name?  I have, and I came up with thousands of Google hits.  All those web pages were little bits and pieces of my internet footprint coming back around to me.  You can do this for your pen name as well.  After I chose my pen name, I decided to become my pen name.  That meant making a Facebook and Twitter account, linking them up to my WordPress blog, and going live.  It meant that I actively signed up for Gmail, forums, and other media sites, as if I were the person I just created.

But what if you don’t have a pen name?  The same advice applies.  Pretend your real name is your pen name.

Use WordPress.com and comment on other people’s blogs.

You’ve heard the old adage to comment on lots of blogs.  Taking five minutes out of your day to share the love means that you get some in return.  What you didn’t know is that WordPress.com makes it very easy to find material in your chosen blog genre.

When you are checking out one of your posts, click on the WordPress tag link.  If it’s a popular tag, you will get lots of different blog posts about it.  Subscribe to this RSS feed in your favorite reader.

If nothing else, you will stay up to the minute on other blogs about what you write about and you can use their posts to find inspiration for your own blog.  Staying active within a community has more benefits than increasing traffic to yours.

Wherever you go, put your blog URL.

Facebook, Twitter, and just about every other social media has a place to put your URL.  Use it.  The same with every forum post and every email.  The same if you are active in any community sites, such as Associated Content.

Offer to write free content for someone else.

Even if it doesn’t come in your blog’s subject, you can create a good footprint by writing for someone else.  Everyone knows about guest blogging, but don’t overlook volunteering your services for other, traditional web sites.

Any other suggestions?

