I’ve been having a little bit of writer’s block lately and I am totally bummed out.  I started off my book with a big bang, writing every day and pacing myself pretty nicely.  Then, all of a sudden, I seemed to have hit a brick wall.

Well, it just so happens that I got a shipment in the mail today, and inside was a book called 45 Master Characters.  I ordered this book along with my other one, and it got delayed.  I was totally psyched to get it in the mail.I open the first page, and bam, here it is:

In my experience almost every writer comes face-to-face with what I call “page thirty blahs.”  You’re writing your novel or screen play.  You have a wonderful idea.  You spend days outlining and writing the first thirty pages.  Then suddenly something happens.  You lose steam.  The pages get harder and harder to write.  The momentum you had going slows down.  Writer’s block looms in the distance, and you lose excitement in the masterpiece you’re writing.

This is exactly what is happening with me.  And since I bought the book, the solution is very easy.  I need to give my characters some more depth.

The book itself is broken out into the different archetypes of characters.  I picked out the type that closely resembles what I envisioned for my main character – and the lead lady, his love interest – and read those chapters, developing a four page biography of the two of them.

Tomorrow is going to comprise some more writing for me.  Even though I try not to edit too much of my book during the first draft – after all, that’s what a first draft is for, right? – I’m going to go back and insert some paragraphs about my two leading characters, give them more flavor and personality.  This way, it will push me forward, because I will then know what they are thinking, what they are feeling, as I unravel their life and mysteries.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Has anyone else bought this book and what do you think about it?

