All this talk about the Marshall Plan has me thinking about the 3DN competition that is held over Labor Day weekend.  This would be the first time that I would enter a book writing competition and I am very excited about it.  The Rules state that you can outline your book beforehand, so over the next few weeks, I am going to mull over an outline using the Marshall Plan.

* 3DN logo from their web site.

I’m not specifically looking to get published and I’m not looking to win the competition.  For me, finishing the competition is winning.  I assume that someone will look at my book and make a comment or three about it.  If it isn’t good enough (and the Marshall Plan doesn’t work, or my writing is stinky), then I will at least know.  Or perhaps my writing IS good enough, but someone else just won the publishing contract.

Either way, it’s a chance for someone to look over, edit, and comment on a novel.

The hard part is that this novel has to be completely original during that 3 day period of time, so I am going to have to switch my brain over from what I was writing to something else.  Should I stay within my genre?  Or should I go out on a limb and write, say, a memoir, or a totally different genre?

How about you, dear readers?  Know of any other book writing contests out there?  (I’m sure there are many others, this can’t be the only one.)

