Since I work from home, that means that I have a very flexible work schedule.  My husband is also off on Fridays.

Previously, I have blogged about using that day to go to the cafe and write my book.  This week worked out pretty well.  Last week, I managed to get my outline done.  This week, I managed to finish the first chapter.  I even have a good hook, or at least, a good enough hook for the first draft.

The problem is, the weekend is full of kids and activities and other such things.  You’ll notice that I don’t blog during that time, even though it’s probably the best time to schedule a post (more people at home = more people surfing the internet = more traffic).  So today, I sat down and it felt like I dragged out my blog post.  Why is that, I wonder?

Then I thought, writing is a lot like exercise.  People find it hard to motivate themselves to go run, go to the gym, or even walk up the stairs:

How do you find motivation to exercise when you just don’t feel like getting off your butt? I ask myself this question every now and then, and I have the feeling I’m not the only one.

The answer is simple.  The more you exercise, and the less breaks that you take, the more you stay in a routine and less likely to make that three day break into a four month break.

So this weekend, I’ve decided NOT to take a break.  It means adding something about writing every single day, even the days that I am officially “off.”

What are some of the ways you motivate yourself to write?

