I’ve decided to enter Writer’s Digest Annual Competition.  I didn’t make a story specifically for this contest, but I am going to use one of the stories I wrote for a college class.  Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

Of course, a writer could go broke entering contests.  Most contests are not free.  I’m not supposed to pay to have something published!  It’s supposed to be the other way around!

* Image is from Writer’s Digest’s web site.

On the other hand, contests can provide a vehicle to get yourself published.  I particularly like this quote:

Other writers don’t enter contests necessarily to win, but to give themselves deadlines and a particular assignment. Pat Remick took on a “3-Day Novel” contest to make a substantial start on a murder mystery she’d been mulling over for a while.

I cheated this time around, because I wrote my short story for a class, not a competition.  But I am also looking – and printing out – all the competitions from my Writer’s Market database search that I might be able to enter.

