I’ve written for a few blogs before, and I’ve written a few of my own.  (I even started blogging before blogs were popularized … but that is an entirely different story.  That just shows everyone how old I really am.)  What I’ve never done is write for a blog every day.  And I have to tell you, I’ve gotten a little overwhelmed by this daily blogging thing.

My fear is not actually that I won’t post something every day, because, let’s face it, I am lazy.  There are going to be days that I skip.  And then there will be days that I have so much to say that I will write twenty posts all in one day and schedule them for you to see.  I’m really hoping that those days will carry me through the lazy days.

My fear is not that I will run out of things to say, either.  Like most writers, I am prolific with the pen, or in my case, the keyboard.  Getting me into a conversation on the telephone is entirely different matter, but that’s not about writing.

My fear is also not about word count.  See, that is the wonderful thing about the internet.  You can go back and edit your work whenever you want.  It’s a writer’s dream.  No wonder blogging is so popular.

My fear is that I will get so wrapped up in this blogging thing that I will lose sight of my ultimate goal: writing a novel.  You see, I have absolutely no idea what I want to write about.  I can handle nonfiction with ease.  I can do prose, and description, and even come up with little flashes of inspiration that sound good, well, at least to me and my husband.  How am I suppose to spurn out a novel when this blogging thing takes up an hour of my day?  And to think, I am using my blog as a way to freewrite for my novel!  This looks entirely too much like work.  I’m starting to get the hives!

So I read this article, which I find helpful.  And it sounds like good advice to me, so I’m going to take it.

1. “I will write 35,000 words of my novel called The Cherry Blossom Tree by January 31, 2012.”  Yes, I realize that this is only half of my novel.  But to make good resolutions, you need to have one that you can attain.  Making a resolution you can’t attain is a waste of time.

2. “I will write for an hour on my husband’s day off.”  My husband works 4 days a week, 10 hours per day.  This means that he has one day off per week, but the days change.  So for my goal, I am going to have him drop me off at the coffee shop on the way to the gym (where he goes), and pick me up on the way back.  And that entire time, I am going to write.  This means that I am not going to blog.  Blogging is for the other days!

3.  “I will stick to my monthly chart (below).”  In fact, I think I will put it up on my blog.  Maybe being responsible will help me out.

4.

FEB:
Begin blog.
Research charity.
Deposit money into checking account (roughly $150).
Order any books that you need ($200 investment).
Develop the main character.
Develop a rough idea of the plot.

MAR:
Write the hook (the first paragraph/page).
Write a rough outline.
Do any required research.
“If you want,” write out the last paragraph/page (optional).

APR through JAN:
Write 35,000 words at a minimum.  This requires 3,500 words per month for ten months, or roughly 900 words per weekly sitting.

5.  “My penalty is that I have to donate $10.00 from my savings account to the charity that I researched.”  I have $27.1o every two weeks deposited into my checking account that I’ve decided I am going to use for my writing stuff.  This is my “paycheck,” and all that other stuff (like coffees) is going to come out of it.

6.  “If I get up and leave the house, and write, I can buy a treat at Starbucks.  If I finish my goal of writing instead of messing around, then I can buy myself lunch.”

Seems reasonable enough. :o)  Let’s see how I do.

