September 2011’s Writer’s Digest is the annual Big 10, and this year, they have a a sidebar called “10 Things for Every Writer’s Bucket List.”  Checking off these items means that you can officially call yourself a writer, at least maybe in the eyes of Writer’s Digest.

(Personally, I would call you a writer if you accomplished any of these items, and maybe even if you haven’t.)

  1. Publish a Short Story
  2. Go to a Writing Conference
  3. Freelance for Money
  4. Visit City Lights
  5. Write & Publish an Essay
  6. Take a Writing Retreat
  7. Write a Novel
  8. Go to BEA & Score a Tote
  9. Read Shakespeare
  10. ________________________ What You Desire

I’ve decided to do a series of blog posts when I complete these items, with #10 being “Get a MFA.”  This doesn’t mean it has to be your #10, but it is mine.

My official list:

  1. Publish a Short Story
  2. Go to a Writing Conference
  3. Freelance for Money
  4. Visit City Lights in SF, CA
  5. Write & Publish an Essay
  6. Take a Writing Retreat
  7. Write a Novel
  8. Go to BEA & Score a Tote
  9. Read Shakespeare
  10. Get a MFA

My #5 was published here:

(http://www.555c.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=40&Itemid=4)

Flash 555 Autobiography

Like most writers, I am infinitely proud of being published, although I didn’t get paid and it doesn’t give me any accolades.  But it is still mine. :)

What is your #10 and how many on the list have you accomplished?

