Word Count: 69,528

Last week, I was all proud of myself because I spent three hours reformatting my manuscript so that I could print my “3/4 complete first draft.”  I had made big plans this week to edit and revise my novel, so that I could make a big push for the last quarter of it.

Well, that is before I met Scrivener.

For those of you who have not met Scrivener yet, well, this is the best thing since white sneakers.  I won’t go into too much detail about it, because, really, you need just to install it and check it out.  It’s freeware, so don’t worry about that.

I think the best part of it, though, is that it keeps word counts for you:

In the first picture, you can see the word count that I have right now.  (This isn’t the word count from my book, I only added a few chapters for testing purposes.)  But the one thing that I absolutely love is the page counts … the page counts for PUBLISHED books!  In my example, you can see that I’ve written 27 pages in a paperback version, and 45 pages in a hardbound version.  I don’t know how many pages and pages and pages of books I’ve copied, just to figure out how many pages I wrote in my novel.  No more!  Hooray!

And in the second picture, you can see the word count of the chapter that I am working on.

Another option, which I didn’t take a picture of, shows a session and a project target.  I put int 125,000 words for my project target, and then I see how many words that I write at the end of the session.  I’m going for 2,000 words per session!

Back to my writing.  This week, I didn’t accomplish many words, but I did spend the time productively organizing and working on the Scrivener application.  I also did get the beginning parts edited.  In this application, I’m able to mark chapters (or parts, if you choose to do your novel in multiple parts per chapter) as “Revised” or “Final Draft,” which corresponds nicely to my editing style.  (“First Draft” is obviously what I write the first time around.  “Revised” is going to be after I do a revision.  “Final Draft” is going to be after my friend and my husband edit the book.)

You’ll notice that my word count went down.  This is because Microsoft Word counts everything (including my notes) but Scrivener only counts the actual words.  Another reason I love it!

Has anyone else used Scrivener?  If so, let me know what you think!

