I finally got around to updating my blogroll. My apologies to those of you who have taken the time to read my blog and comment, but I haven’t included you. If you don’t see your blog there, please let me know!

Your blogroll is a very important list. Taking the time to acknowledge and thank those who come to your site has its own rewards. I mean, think about it. If someone put you on her blogroll, wouldn’t you tend to visit her site more often? I would. Anyone who puts me in his or her blogroll gets a special place in my RSS feed reader, and I try to read everything written. I also try to comment, too. That’s what blogging is about.

Cultivating relationships on your blog takes time. I haven’t blogged here for very long, but I’ve made friends, and I value their friendship, not only because they read and comment on what I am sharing, but also because I feel as though I’ve found kindred spirits, others who share the same goals and the same passion as I do.  Although I’ve never met these people in real life, I am happy to have found them, and I am happy they have found me.

Today’s post, however, really isn’t about thanking my readers (although I did want to take the time to do so).  I’ve dubbed Tuesday to be “blog marketing day for writers.”  This will be the day that I share some tips that I’ve gathered for generating some more traffic to your blog.

Building traffic to your blog, if you are a writer, is something entirely different than, say, a blog whose purpose is just to make money.  By money, I mean the advertising kind such as Google Adsense or paid blogging posts, both of which are no-nos here at WordPress.com.  Perhaps it is because, as a writer, we don’t care about making money that way.  Okay, everyone likes money.  I wouldn’t say no if an extra $100 drops in my lap.

But it’s also not the reason I blog.

My secondary goal for this blog is to reach out and find people who are doing what I am doing – writing a novel – and sharing my experience with them.  That’s not my only goal, because if it were, I have achieved it.  My primary goal is to write my novel, and then when that is finished, I want to shout out to the world, I did it!!

So, if you are a writer, your aim is not to generate money from your blog, which again would be nice if it happened, but it is to tell people that you wrote something.

The point of this is that I’d like to tell as many people as possible.  Maybe I’m narcissistic, but there, I said it.  Okay, in order to tell many people that I completed my goal, I must also have a lot of people to tell, which is where driving traffic to your blog, and your blogroll come in.

Go out and find 5 to 10 more popular blogs and put them in your blogroll.  While you are there, comment on posts.  Go back regularly.  The reason for this is very simple.  If you haunt their site often enough (and they do read your comments) and you send them enough traffic, they will notice.  If they notice, and they appreciate, then they are going to send traffic back to your site.  Once your site gets more popular, do the same thing again and this time, aim higher.  Every blogger got there because he pays attention to the blog traffic reports.  Give him a reason, and he will reciprocate.

In summary:

  1. Put anyone who regularly comments on your site in your blogroll.  Be sure to visit their sites, too, and comment on their posts.
  2. Find 5 to 10 more popular blogs, and put them in your blogroll.  Be sure to visit their sites, and comment on their posts.
  3. Change up your blogroll every so often.

Let me know what you think.  Anyone with any success stories?


If you liked my post, maybe you’d like to subscribe to my newsletter or subscribe to my RSS Feed.

