As with any of my projects, I try to be too much of a perfectionist.  That can really get me into trouble because I also have a habit of leaving things unfinished because they do not make my standards.  Anyway, that lead me to do some research on what time is the best time to post a blog post.  Obviously, this is so I can maximize the scheduling of my posts so that more readers will read them.

What I discovered is that most people read their blog posts in the morning, with their cup of joe, on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Saturdays.  Saturdays are for those people who are catching up from the week, and I assume that the weekends (Mondays through Wednesdays) are because people are “gearing up” for work.  What exactly does this mean?

It means that the best time to post a blog post is when your readers are going to read your blog post.  Everyone’s blog is different.  You see, my statistics are quite different than those statistics:

It seems like Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturdays are my best posts.  Friday’s post was only my word count.

This goes to show you, though, that most major bloggers out there schedule their posts in advance, to make sure that they hit in the optimum time.  It also means that you need to pay attention to the traffic on your site, and also play around with the timing of your blog posts.

After all of this, I decided to schedule my blog post to come out at 9:00 a.m. instead of 8:00 a.m.  (9:00 a.m. EST is 6:00 a.m. PST.)  I am thinking that the reason my statistics are off from the average is because of that time.  I will let everyone know how it goes.

